Welcome to the brand new Codemasters Forums! Be sure to check the FAQ and Forum Rules before you get started.

Grand Prix Manager - Introduction and Sign up (1 PLAYER NEEDED)

MexicolaMexicola Race Engineer
edited October 2016 in Off-topic Discussion
Hey, I'm Mexicola. I'm a student, I'm broke, and I'm bored. Now that's out of the way, let's make our time on the forum a bit more spicy with this little picnic. What picnic you ask? Well, allow me to explain some stuff to you.

WHAT IS THIS
This an F1 management game (that was totally ripped off from Chris2k6 from grandprixgames.org) which will be played on this forum, using Geoff Crammond's Grand Prix 4. Basic idea is, you sign up, I assign you a team at random, you manage that team using mechanics explained below and throughout the seasons, I will simulate the sessions and races and you work towards bettering your team. I tried to run this before but it didn't get off the ground due to lack of interest. So let's have another go, might as well.

(special thanks to Chris2k6, Twigster and Morgiman on GrandPrixGames.org for the original concept and format)

(You do not need Grand Prix 4 to play this game, all it requires is a bit of forum participation - that's it)

WHAT IS MY JOB
Your job, as team manager, is to negotiate contracts with drivers, engine suppliers and tyre manufacturers and make decisions regarding strategy, testing and upgrades. When you sign up, you're randomly assigned a team. However, being assigned to a high-end team won't guarantee long term success. Your performance can drop off if you're not careful, and other teams can make leaps and gains. Similarly, being assigned to a low-end team doesn't mean you're stuck there for eternity, although it can be difficult to move up the ranks due to comparatively small budget.

WHAT IS YOUR JOB
I'm the dungeon master, stupid. I set the budgets, rules, prices, handle contract negotiations and simulate all test, practice, qualifying and race sessions.