Welcome to the Codemasters Forums! Be sure to check the FAQ and Forum Rules before you get started.

Online racing - all cars equal

10P210P2 Member New Car Smell
Should I be having problems with this?

First of all, I'm new to this game ( 5 weeks ) and totally new to this forum, so I'm sorry if this topic has been covered before. If it has, I can't find it.

I'll try to keep this as short as possible:
After spending a couple of weeks dabbling in career mode I'd worked my way to where I felt confident of getting regular wins/podiums driving a Red Bull.with the AI cars at 50%. 
Afriend invited me into an Xbox racing group and told me that the next race was Montreal, all assists were allowed and if I could regularly lap in the low 1 min 17s - which I could - then I wouldn't embarrass myself.
So, after a couple of days practice, a time trial lap of (several) sub 1:17s under my belt, and my custom setup safely saved, I climbed into a Red Bull fairly confidently.
I drove out of the pit lane and gloom descended upon me. My carefuly crafted car setup was about as useful as a ham pie at a Jewish wedding and the car handled as if I was driving on polished ice. Of course, parc ferme regulations didn't exactly help at this point. 
Anyway, I eventually scrabled round in a best of 1:19.7
To my discombobulation, there was actually two drivers slower than me.
The race you don't want to hear about - suffice it to say that my head mechanic's obsession with telling me about my "slightly damaged" front wing got right on my t*ts so I was actually quite glad when the stewards disqualified me for impersonating a Formula 1 driver.