Jump to content Jump to content

How to feel Tire traction?

moogleslam

Hi humans!

After a lot of experience in DiRT 2, 3, and DiRT Rally, I had been away for a while, but finally bought DiRT Rally 2.0 Game of the Year Edition this week, and am loving rally more than ever.  I'm on PC and am using a Fanatec CSL Elite wheel base & Clubsport Pedals V3.  I've got 10 hours into it already, but a lot of those hours have been tweaking graphics and force feedback to my liking.  I started with Fanatec's recommended settings.  I've almost got things to where I like them, but the one thing I feel is lacking is knowing what the tires are doing, i.e. are they gripping, or are they spinning. 

I've got a lot of experience in all the dirt cars in iRacing, and it's very easy to know what the tires are doing in that sim, though it's been a while, and I can't recall if it's through wheel feedback, pedal feedback, audio, or a mix of all three.  Is there some recommended settings in DR2 to achieve the same?  I know there's sliders for Wheel Friction and Tire Friction, but I don't fully understand them (including the difference between the two), but I haven't been able to get them to give me what I want.  There's also Tire Slip, but it's grayed out.

Thanks!

5 hours ago, moogleslam said:

Hi humans!

After a lot of experience in DiRT 2, 3, and DiRT Rally, I had been away for a while, but finally bought DiRT Rally 2.0 Game of the Year Edition this week, and am loving rally more than ever.  I'm on PC and am using a Fanatec CSL Elite wheel base & Clubsport Pedals V3.  I've got 10 hours into it already, but a lot of those hours have been tweaking graphics and force feedback to my liking.  I started with Fanatec's recommended settings.  I've almost got things to where I like them, but the one thing I feel is lacking is knowing what the tires are doing, i.e. are they gripping, or are they spinning.