Sign in to follow this  

[IDEA] New damage engine for 2014

I have been playing Codemasters F1 since 2009 on the Wii. And throughout the 4 years I notices that after the huge leap in the damage system  between 09-10 there hasn't been any big changes.

The system works well with the front of your car. But it virtually ignores your side pods and rear wing. I was recently playing it and I was in Monaco and my team-mate plowed into the back of my car during qualifying. He ended up retiring from his suspension tearing apart, but me. I went on with no damage from the incident.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmQbUJiEax8 

Next Car Game has a very nice damage engine, which, I feel, something similar to this could make the F1 games much more realistic when it comes to crashes. I would love to be able to see my rear wing hanging at an angle from someone ramming into me, or my side-pods having a dent from when I ran too close to the wall and hit it. Even having a higher chance of my tyre locking up if I touch a wall and damage my wheel.

So anyway, what changes do you want from the damage engine, or do you even want any changes to it?

It should be like the first Grid but FIA license stuff is probably what stops Codemastersd. They could do better damage in F1 games if they wanted I'm sure, but they probably aren't allowed to.

The license restrictions are still in-place (the side pod areas are sadly a no-go for now). However we appreciate there's always room for improvements in the areas we can simulate.

So many people want the damage to be more realistic - I just don't get it! 

Touring Cars etc - yes, you drive on with your wing falling off, skirt scraping on the floor etc, but in F1, one tiny little thing - end of race - I don't care what my car looks like when race is over. 

Hatta said:
The license restrictions are still in-place (the side pod areas are sadly a no-go for now). However we appreciate there's always room for improvements in the areas we can simulate.