DIRT 5 - Chat about the game and get support here. Read more... ×
How to contact Customer Service Read more... ×

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

<-- this midlife and career gamer is excited about gaming for the first time in ages! DR + VR + FFB

As a midlife gamer I have been gaming for over 30 years now.   I play most games and must have played tens of rally games throughout my gaming career.   Up to *just* now, my gaming habit tended to be: run through game once, have a blast, never pick it up again. I am excited to post that I have just noticed a change in this habit and I think it has to be the tech (software and hardware) has now reached a point where it is truly next gen and boy has it has made a difference!

I would say I am a mid-range enthusiast i.e. I own a DK2 and G29 and 970 GPU, not the best, but very adequate.  Racing games in VR, with a force feedback wheel are awesome because of the immersion factor but both software tech and hardware tech must synergise for the experience to really become next gen.

I realised it had become next gen, with DR potentially having serious lasting power when I bought my second car.  I went from the Mini to the Stratos.  Sure, the handling of most rally games' cars feel different but up to now I found learning each new car's nuances to be a right PITA!  I am loving it in DR!  I am enjoying the process of learning the Stratos.  I am roleplaying that I only have the cars I buy because otherwise I find the cars homogenise if you play loads of different cars once. 

I think the roads surfaces, main car graphics, audio and car physics are spot on.  Sure, the visuals are a little grainy for me (DK2) but they definitely work!  What excites me is that I have obviously seen DR's graphical potential when playing in 2D.  Imagine how DR will look when Oculus etc. release consumer version 2!  You are there!

Anyhoo!  Just felt I had to share that.  Thanks Codemasters!

PS