Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dirt Rally - config feedback

Hi all,

Recently I started playing Dirt Rally again and would like some feedback on my current setup/config:

- I am playing on a 21:9 g-sync monitor and used this fov calculator to figure out that my optimal in game fov setting is 0.5 (using the driver cam).
- Min fps is 90+ with in game benchmark; g-sync turned on.
- I turned off all the assists and the HUD.
- I use a xbox elite controller with force feedback set to 150% in game.
- The control scheme is set to default.
- The gearbox is set to automatic. I see all the good players are using a manual gearbox, but I can't get used to it.
- Voice of co-driver is turned off. I get distracted to much by his continuous flow of instructions (same goes for the onscreen indications).
- Advanced controller setup is as follows:
Sensitivity: 85
Linearity: 0
Deadzone: 5
the rest is at default

Goals:
- Winning a masters championship
- Ranking in the top tier on dailies/weeklies/monthlies

Even though I have enough disposal income to buy a steering wheel, I don't know if I will use it enough to justify the purchase.  I do like fantasizing about such a setup though ;)

Well, if you are going to meet your goals without a co driver you will have to learn every inch of every stage.

bogani said:
Well, if you are going to meet your goals without a co driver you will have to learn every inch of every stage.
You are right. Just finished a couple of races with the co-driver voice turned on and it wasn't as distracting as I remembered it being. That is good news.

I forgot to mention that when playing a championship, I don't restart because I like to train for the online events. This will probably handicap me when it comes to the first goal I mentioned. I also presume that some/most(?) players play with the assists on. I might be making it harder for myself to combine a realistic config (eg assists off) with my other two goals.