Sign in to follow this  

Celebrating the women behind our games for #IWD2019 | Meet Talia

Following on from International Women’s Day last week, we wanted to introduce you to more of the wonderful women behind some of your favourite Codemasters games. Today we’re talking to Talía Gual, one of the UI Artists here at Codemasters HQ!

Hey Tali! So tell us: what do you do at Codemasters?

I’m a UI Artist! I create engaging menus and interfaces.

And how long have you been working here?

Just over three years now. I had the opportunity to move from Spain to the UK for this job.

How did you get into the games industry?

Around the time I was studying Graphic Design, apps and mobile games started to be a big thing. It was an opportunity to make something small and casual, so for my final project I got together with other students and we made a mobile game. After some years I landed a position in an AAA studio which was my goal all along. Console and PC is what I am most passionate about and what I want to focus my career on.

What does a day in your job look like?

My day usually starts by wrestling for a seat on the company minibus! At work, I get the latest build, get a tea and check my tasks – it all depends on what phase the project is at, but usually I’ll be making screens and features, reading the design, mocking-up wireframes and dressing them up with art, implementing and adding animations with our tools so code can make it work in game. I also go to meetings, stand-ups, and have constant on-going conversations with other members of the team. Our studio has a gym and beautiful surroundings, so we go for walks, play frisbee, football, frolic!

How did you get into UI?