Motorsport Games, Codemasters and FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy partner to create the World RX Esports Invitational Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

F1 community gone quiet

I've been browsing the forums since 2010, occasionally reacting, giving feedback to current games and posting suggestions about games to come. And in the period 2009 - 2012, this was a rather active community with nice people and the occasional troll. But more important, the forums was not only kept alive by the posting members, but also from within Codemasters, with Steve Hood and Andy Grey popping up, giving some insights in the development cycle. 

But for well over a year (maybe even 2) now, it's gone quiet. The F1 series started so well with developer diary movies, interviews with some of the members of the Codemasters team (Steve Hood, Paul Jeal, Anthony Davidson, remember?), messages on the forum. All very interactive and popular with both F1 and gaming fans. And in 2015 now, there is nothing left of this vibe. A month before a game release, Codemasters posts a press release on their website announcing a game, 2 paragraphs of text and a release date. And then they go quiet for another year. 

And ofcourse, there is no unwritten or written rule in the world of gaming that developers should interact with their fans, and ofcourse, even with no information, I will still be in the store somewhere this year, buying the game and having a good time with it, like I did with the previous games. But I miss that little extra: that extra thing that made F1 2010 more than just a game. I miss that F1 was about Formula 1 enthousiasts in the group of developers and in the group of gamers, and they all coming together online on this platform.