Sign in to follow this  

How to get better at Grid: Autosport.

Hello, my name is Gurrens. I'm mainly a fighting game and JRPG player who is trying to get better at Grid. I have little to no experience with racing games outside of Midnight Club:LA, Forza 4, Burnout and Lego Racer(N64). How do I go accomplishing that goal? Is there any lingo or terms I should get familiar with?

Hello Gurrens,

I think the best way to get better at any game is practice, practice and more practice.  I like to get a good feel for the cars first and work out which ones feel best for me, then I get to know the tracks.  Hope you enjoy !

Another tip for racing games is, start slow, use the brakes!. Use the practice time before every race to learn the track, get used to the car and as mentioned, practice, practice, practice.

Also go into free play and just run laps, starting slow and building up the speed.

Hope this helps.

Evilsmurf said:

Another tip for racing games is, start slow, use the brakes!.

There's a lot more on this at the links above, but for braking, especially in the more powerful cars, aim to do as much of your braking and accelerating in a straight line as you can. Braking or accelerating while you're steering destabilises the car and makes the car harder to control. Of course, the more experienced drivers can and do "trail brake" further into a corner to shave off those important tenths, but practice the basics first.