Apparently my setup is terrible

I started playing with F1 2018 and I must say I am not a very good driver. That said, using no assists (except ERS), I could race the AI on 50% and finish a race around the level of my team mate (which seems to be a good measure of one's limits).

I thought I had a basic knowledge of how setups worked and was quite satisfied with mine in 2018 (note : I didn't use the so-called ''ballast trick'' as I could'nt manage the oversteer of a ballast higher than 7) but I am really struggling in 2019.

I spent time learning about the differences in 2019 (with youtube videos, articles etc.) and adjusting (in Spain) my base setup to get the best times. Once this was done, I started a career.

And then the nightmare began : on 50% AI, I am always 20th, sometimes several seconds away! Lowering difficulty (to 30%) helped, but then I can only win anything using massive amounts of flashbacks (like several... for every turn), achieving a lucky qualifying and then bottlenecking everyone behind me with a hard defense : I have absolutely no pace whatsoever and even Williams cars easily go past me.

Worse : when pushing the car to the limit I am suffering of both understeering and oversteering at the same time : I go extremely wide on corner entry and spin ridiculously on corner exit.

I tried ajusting my setup, but there is only so much you can do (isolating each setting is hard : I am not a machine and my lap times are never exactly the same so it's hard to see what does what). 

This really ashames me, I really took a lot of time to adjust the setup and... well it kind of sucks anyway as behaviour is subpar in the end. So, could anyone teach me how to suck less?

Here is what I use in Spain (and is quite ''baseline'') :

Transmission :

Diff ON : 100 (tried lowering it, seemed to give worse times as the car struggled to accelerate on corner exit)

Diff OFF : 75