Sign in to follow this  

Please help!!! Can't control car

Hi I'm new to f1 PC for a week now and I want to race without assists but if i take the braking assist completely off and the traction off then the car won't stay straight even on a straight. It just turns and spins immediately. I am using a Ps4 controller to play. Does anyone know why the car is spinning and it is unplayable? I really want to compete

if your saying the steering is to sensitive try playing with the steering linearity (I think its called) in the controller options. I have to use a lot of steering linearity and very little front downforce other wise its just to uncontrollable for me jerking left and right with just the slightest touch of the thumbstick.  

I get what you want to say, increase your linearity, a bit of deadzone and leave the saturation at 0. Start with low AI difficulty and leave the ABS on and TC to medium. Some say the Rome was not built in one day, hence do not race 110 AI with assists off, not a good start. Good luck.

Posted (edited)

Hi @AceRiaz, If you're not used to driving without traction control, you are most likely too aggressive on the throttle. this causes wheelspin when accelerating in the lower gears, even on the straights.

The key is to be gentle on the throttle; slowly increase your input instead of pressing it like an on/off button.

Some tips that might help you out:

- In general the rule out of slow corners is "the more you're still steering, the less you press the pedal". As you're straightening up the wheel on corner exit, slowly increase your throttle, and don't go full throttle until you have the wheel completely straight again. Once you get a feel for this, you can try being a bit more aggressive to find the limit.

- Shifting earlier (short shifting) can be useful to avoid torque spikes and get less wheelspin.