Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DiRT Rally - AI drivers too good?

After logging 10 hours in DiRT Rally I have come to the conclusion that the AI drivers are just a tad too good.

I'm a pretty decent driver, but I constantly find myself finishing 10-30+ seconds behind first place in Open championships. That's with racing hard and minimal mess ups. I know this is supposed to be a hardcore sim, but having the first difficulty set to where an average gamer doesn't come close is more than likely going to deter future players. I'm not saying dumb down all the AI, but maybe take a look at the stats Early Access players are sending in and create an average starting difficulty?

Agree? Disagree?

I was finishing 6th-7th at the start, now i just won an event on pro, and, i thought i was driving well at first too, but, its just how big the learning curve on this game is!!!

AI times are strange, sometimes they are 30 seconds faster and sometimes 30 seconds slower than me even though both times I drove just as good :/ 

I'm usually a lot slower than the AI drivers too with my highest place being 2nd I think...but I don't feel like I've put an entire perfect stage together. Therein lies the challenge, that's what gives you something to shoot for and keeps you coming back for more.

I'm playing in the Elite championship and consistently finishing in the top 5.

I have logged over 25 hours, the first 20 hours were mostly a disaster and I have yet to do a full, fast clean stage.

The AI times feel a bit random to me.  In the same event I've won a stage and then been a minute off the pace on the next one.  Just a couple of things I've noticed:

- The lead AI time never seems to make a mistake