Sign in to follow this  

The Positive Thread

My working life is very stressful at the moment so, despite my reservations, I picked up a copy of Grid to distract me from the real world for a bit. 

It gave me enormous pleasure to report I found plenty to applaud and little to justify the bashing this game has gotten so far.

Far from being underdeveloped ( I eat my heresay based words) this is a well polished reboot that surpasses the previous titles in most areas, (I have owned every CM racing game since Toca 2 and hated some aspects of the Grid series.) 

Presentation doesn't look bland to me ( and I am an artist by trade), smoke blowing over the menus is a nice touch, lovely opening credits and well chosen BACKGROUND music.. custom your own soundtrack if you like but at least there is nothing annoying here..The announcers are always a bugbear but having them shut each other up with the x button is a masterstroke..

Stellar handling straight off the bat on controller, and well executed damage and particle animation - the smoke effects have to be up there with the best, and the flying body parts are really convincing, they somehow seem to have real heft to them as they gain air . Less structural deformation perhaps than of yore, and of course scripted rather than soft body, but it certainly beats GTSport and Forza for detail and execution. 

Regarding content, there are surely sufficient events and cars to master, it is certainly going to take me forever to handle that tankslappy 240z in the wet. The track selection is going to be added to for free anyway. 

Like it or not this is current industry practice and, running my own business, I know how hard it is to juggle priorities, the customer often just doesn’t get this. I am the first to shout if I feel cynically shortchanged. That is not the case here, and I am angry when I see people jump to conclusions and be disrespectful  just because they cannot have their all their demands met.