Help!! I’m slow this year, and can’t figure out why!

I’ve been driving F1 titles since 2012. Moved to a wheel in 16, and steadily picked up my pace over next few years to the point that in 17-18 I was easily in the top 2-5% in TT on all tracks (except Bahrain 🤮), no assists, and cockpit cam  

This year I've had the game about a month, and I’m really struggling to find the pace. Where as in online lobbies I’d be about a second off the pace when the fastest guys show up, and dominate in what I’d call just random lobbies. But now I find myself 2-3 seconds off, and I’m not sure why? 

Any other long time players having this issue, or do I just suck this year? Maybe I need more time... 

Edited by PatrickTucker
Misspelling
  • Like 1

This year Codemasters messed up the car performance big time.

Apparently Codemasters believed that the real life cars would be slower than the ones from 2018 due to a front wing regulation change that was supposed to make the cars less draggy, easier to follow with lower amounts of dirty air, hence the cars were supposed to be less aerodynamically efficient and in turn produce understeer in the process.

Regardless, thanks to the masterpiece of engineering of the real life efforts that were a result of heavy work on all aspects of the art of car building, none of the teams, except maybe Williams, lost any speed in 2019 compared to 2018, even better:

The 2019 cars irl are much faster than the ones of 2018, a fact that even the F1 gurus were not able to anticipate.

Still, F1 2019 the game came out after 8 race weekends were held in real life, so Codemasters had more than enough time to fix the car performance accordingly before and after the realease of the game, but they did not and instead came up with a lazy excuse that they "could not see it".