Sign in to follow this  

How do I get faster?

Hi,

I got Dirt Rally 2.0 for Christmas but I'm struggling with it. FYI - I play with a controller and will not be buying a wheel.

I really enjoyed Dirt Rally and thought I was half-decent at it. I came 7th on Masters in career mode driving a Lancia Delta S4, after driving the same car on Elite and would usually come halfway in daily and weekly challenges, so I didn't think of myself as a beginner at these games. 

I struggled with Dirt Rally at first, but after changing the input settings, I got better and learned how to control the cars and finish stages without crashing.

After playing Dirt Rally 2.0 for a little while, I was surprised to find that I'm not very good at it! I made a few adjustments to the input settings and the cars feel fine to drive, but I'm finishing between 18th and 20th on Very Easy.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong, which is worrying because I don't know what to change!

Could someone please help me?

Edited by WestHam66

If you're on gamepad I know PJ made a controller guide to get the settings right for xbox pads at least. might be worth checking out - 

Other than that though, your biggest challenge with 2.0 will be how much more weight the cars all feel like they have. Momentum is a serious thing in 2.0 so your braking line will be different from DR1 and you need to focus on the weight shifting. Other than that, just focus on clean runs, your old speed will come back to you quickly if you stay clean.

Slow down. 

Slow is smooth. 

Smooth is fast.

Seriously, whenever I think I drove the stage like a grandmother, those are my fastest times.

• Like 1
  • Agree 2

Absolutely agree, and It'd be a nice little sentence as a signature in the profile here on the forums: 'Sometimes you have to slow down to go a little faster.'

Edited by richie
  • Like 1

3 hours ago, Mike Dee said: