New DR driver - looking for the best CMR game to play alongside

Hi, I’m new to rally games and am enjoying getting slowly into DR, loving (and slightly daunted by) the realistic physics. 

I’m also looking for a more arcade-leaning rally game to get into alongside DR to get a feel of the full spectrum of what rally games are about. I collect CRTs & old games & happen to have CMR 1, 2, 3 & 4. 

I have dirt 4 but haven’t played it much. For a sim game I feel I might as well embrace full sim with DR - and I can’t help feeling that the ‘gamer’ mode in D4 perhaps isn’t a truly arcade-leaning handling model, but more likely just the sim model with lots of assists and tweaks to make it easier as opposed to being built from the ground up for arcade-sim style handling. 

My question is: am I right in that I should go back to one of the CMR games for a purer arcade-leaning  experience? I keep hearing people say that the CMR games are better for this than dirt 1,2,3 etc.

Lastly, which CMR game should I get into seeing as I have the choice of the first 4? A lot of people seem to think 2.0 was the pinnacle, but I’d be interested to hear any opinions..

Edited by Andykara2003
Correction

i have been playing rally games for probably close to 20 years and Dirt 2 (on PS3/PC/Xbox 360) still remains the best arcade-style rally game i've ever played. the stages are great, the graphics still actually hold up well, especially on PC, and it has a large selection of cars and disciplines. 

• Agree 1