DIRT 5 - Chat about the game and get support here. Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

Looking for a few tips

Hi,

I am a veteran on racing sims but I just can't seem to get the feel for some of the cars in DR 2.0

To me it feels like I am a passenger a lot of the time with the cars just not responding to my input.

I have tried the 'GTR Technical' setups on YouTube with moderate success.

I am running a Thrustmaster TS300 so if anyone has any recommended wheel settings they could share that would be great. I am running automatic shifting for now, I have enough trouble trying to get to the end of a stage at the moment, it seems like pot luck as to whether the car will stick to the road.

At the moment I am getting battered by the AI on 80% difficulty, even when i have a smooth stage. Not sure what I can do to improve.

What also confuses me is the AI speed in heavy rain. I ran a stage in Wales yesterday. Once in dry conditions where I actually won the stage by 4 seconds.
The second run-through was pretty smooth yet I finished 12 seconds down. It seems like the heavy rain doesn't affect the AI as much as the player.

Any help greatly appreciated, thanks

Long post warning.

1 hour ago, cjhill said:

I am a veteran on racing sims

Its good you have previous experiance in sims, but unless you are on Spain or Germany in DR2.0; you pretty much have to throw that past experiance out the window. Throttle control is still needed, but a lot of the smoothness you would normally use for steering; can often need to be replaced with aggressivnes. On dirt/gravel/snow/ice, you often need to do a fair amount of pendulum turns in order to get the rotation you need. Plus the use of the handbrake can sometimes be needed to swing around the tighter hairpins. It becomes counter intuitive if you are only used to circuit racing mainly.

1 hour ago, cjhill said:

To me it feels like I am a passenger a lot of the time with the cars just not responding to my input.