Sign in to follow this  

Tuning tips for more realistic tarmac handling

Posted (edited)

Ok guys, tarmac physics are far from perfect, so let's talk about how to fight it with tunings. First off, here is my 911 RGT tuning for Spain. Let me know what you think.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xc0UIFsrg6g

I'm not an expert or anything, just trying to use what I learned from other sims. It seems like the most important settings are differential and springs. I think the key is to make the car understeery, as to get rid of that horrible sideways sliding, but not so that it becomes undriveable. FWD cars feel fine on tarmac, but I bet they too can be improved with tuning. Some AWD cars also feel ok. It's RWD cars that suffer the most here.

What are your thoughts?

Edited by danielofifi

Yes, that looks right, only the front spring rate would not have been adjusted so hard, because that doesn't look normal.

The rear anti-roll bar can be adjusted a little softer.

2 hours ago, PaulNbg said:

Yes, that looks right, only the front spring rate would not have been adjusted so hard, because that doesn't look normal.

The rear anti-roll bar can be adjusted a little softer.

I too was surprised at some values during testing, but this is the combination that makes the car feel good to me. But feel free to experiment, maybe it can be improved.

21 hours ago, danielofifi said:

It's RWD cars that suffer the most here.

RWD cars slip and oversteer even in reality if you accelerate too much, especially on tarmac. On gravel the rear tyres dig a slight rut in which they get some grip.

FWD cars can oversteer if you stop accelerating (downshift) and steer too much.

2 hours ago, PaulNbg said:

RWD cars slip and oversteer even in reality if you accelerate too much, especially on tarmac. On gravel the rear tyres dig a slight rut in which they get some grip.