DIRT 5 - Chat about the game and get support here. Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

Questions: Realism and Assists Settings

Posted (edited)

I'm trying to get the most realistic sim experience here, which has led me to ponder the assist settings in DR2.  All through my brief DR2 life so far, I've had them all off on the advice of experienced drivers.  However, because I'm new at this, I didn't know anything about all the classes/groups of cars in the game, so I started reading the FIA regulations that define what they are, just so I'd know what I was looking at.  In so doing, I also discovered that the cars of DR2 span a large swath of time, when different regulations applied.  Sometimes VERY different.

The rules for the current generation of top-end WRC cars (which aren't in DR2 anyway) explicitly ban ABS and traction control, but this was not the case a few years ago, and we have plenty of cars from earlier eras.  As for other classes/groups, the rules allow ABS if the homologized car has it, although it can be removed.  In addition, all the rules require "mechanical, limited slip" differentials, which were invented specifically to provide a degree of traction control, although they can't have electric or hydraulic components.  It seems other "assists" were also allowed at various times for various types of cars but these are the ones I'm focusing on now.

So, my questions are as follows:

1.  Does the game keep track of all this itself?  IOW, if a car was built under different rules than today (so had various assists), does the game include those in the basic performance modeling of the car, so even if you have the assists off, you still get some of their effects in specific cars that had them?  If so, then I can quit worrying about this.  Leave assists off and you'll have realism.