Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tarmac issues and general grip levels

Hello!

First off, let me say the ffb update was a huge step in the right direction. Feels way more natural now.
But tarmac feels totally unbelievable in this game. I have to admit in real life I am quite inexperienced driving a car on surfaces like gravel (I have at least some experience). But I have been driving on tarmac with all kinds of cars since 20 years on a daily basis. There is to much grip (as it is in general) on tarmac plus the weight load of the cars in the ffb feels waaaaay to light.
I also intensly compared Dirt Rally tarmac stage to games (sims) specialized on tarmac: Assetto Corsa and GTR2. My observations:

1. In both games (AC and GTR2) the ffb resistance while going round corners is way stronger - as it is in reality without steering assistance. This is what I mean by weight load.
2. In Dirt Rally I have almost no feedback from the road surface itself. No bumps to be felt, no permanent slight vibration in the steering wheel (coming from the texture of the tarmac). Tarmac feels ridiculously smooth, totally unrealistic.
3. The feedback from spinning/slipping tires on tarmac is also far too low, barely existant. Even when ingame ffb settings are cranked up all the way.

Regarding general grip levels in the game: I think all cars have too much grip.

Edit: Tarmac seems to be ok gripwise , after I did a little video research about rally cars grip on tarmac. Gravel and snow seems to be a little too grippy.

What do the other drivers think about it?

Sorry for my bad english.

Agreed, the FFB did help give the cars much better feel but grip levels are still too high, worse at lower speeds.