Jump to content Jump to content

Wet-weather Driving Tips

TurkeySloth2107

On top of F1 2020 being the first racing game I've picked up in years, all my previous experience was in NASCAR '99 for the PlayStation. Thus, I have zero experience driving in wet weather because that game didn't have wet-weather tyres. So, aside afrom the painfully obvious "go slower", what tips can you offer me about driving in wet weather? Just in case you're wondering, I'm doing time trials at, mostly, very easy or easy tracks to get my footing, so there's no option for intermediate conditions.

First of all, welcome back to the racing community! I'd say your initial assessment is correct, although instead of saying "go slower", I'd say "go smoother" or "be patient". Smoothness and patience is key with throttle and steering inputs, and while we as humans tend to think that putting in more throttle sooner means we will go faster, that all goes out the window if we are driving in the rain.

There was a similar thread going around, so I hope you don't mind if I share a similar collection of suggestions with you. I am by no means an expert, but I do manage to race against 100-103 AI in the rain and keep fairly equal pace with my teammate. Here goes:

- In the car setup, increase your wings to something like 7-10 or 8-11, increase your ride height to 7-8 or higher, set your on throttle diff to 50 and off-throttle diff to 65 or higher. These setup changes will give you more grip and stability.
- Stay away from kerbs. Those things get super slippery in the wet and will snap you out with no warning.