F1 2020 | PODIUM PASS SERIES 2 NOW LIVE| READ ME!!! Read more... ×
F1 2020 | CODEMASTERS PC FORUM CHAMPIONSHIP | LOOKING FOR DRIVERS Read more... ×

25% ranked is dead

Posted (edited)

I think title says it all.

Max number of players I've seen this week in 25% ranked was 4.
So what's the point of having it there if 5 lap races are more rewarding?
Shouldn't it be the other way around? 
You invest more time in to the race, you have more chances of getting penalty in one race.
Why the hell are 5 lap ranked even a thing?
they have nothing in common with f1 (apart maybe from quali in monaco).

So yea, DEAD GAME.

Edited by Kicaj928
  • Agree 2
  • Disagree 1

Nobody plays ranked, everyone just does league racing

Theorising a bit here (I'm not a developer, just putting myself in the shoes of a player):

If you're a player looking to get points (which is the purpose of Ranked), wouldn't you want to optimise your potential points gain per hour by having more chances to gain?

From lobby to results, a 5 lap race (+ Qualifying) takes about 15 minutes, so that's 4 chances to increase your Rank in an hour.

A 25% race takes 30-40 minutes by comparison, giving you 1-2 chances per hour to gain points.

That's probably why so many gravitate to 5 lap sprints.

You may get more points for doing a 25% race, I don't know (I am not a developer, and don't speak for them).

Personally, I just want to hop online and have some good clean racing, and I get that in 5 Lap races (my Safety rating is S).

Also (personal opinion), sprint racing's fun.

Longer races are good for strategy but when you want to go all-out, wheel-to-wheel and not worry about strategy, nothing beats 5 Laps.

4 hours ago, PJTierney said:

If you're a player looking to get points (which is the purpose of Ranked), wouldn't you want to optimise your potential points gain per hour by having more chances to gain?