F1 2020 Forum Championship SPACES AVAILABLE | Season 3 starting 20/11 Read more... ×

I’m getting killed when I pit

I’m playing on elite mode with all assists off. I qualify in the top ten (25% laps) and do decent until I pit then I get slaughtered. When I played on easier settings I would just make my time back when I passed the drivers who pitted a lap or two later than me. I’m still pretty new to elite mode and I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. Thanks in advance for input. 

I don’t know what you mean but it don’t think that it has to do with all assist off.

If you are speaking about doing an undercut, there are a few things to consider. You should really push hard on in and out lap and you can lose much time when pitting trying to brake at the pit entry. Undercut does not always mean winning a place.

It’s a matter of strategy for me but difficult to answer without much info but not a question of assist.

I need to learn more about pitting strategy. I get what you mean about how it’s not because of the assists but playing without them makes me considerably slower especially playing without the line specifically. 

You should try removing assist one at a time. There are a lot of video on YouTube giving you tips to do it.

You should first try to learn the track, every corner, every apex and braking points by watching other videos and progressively removing the racing line (only on corners, then off).

Keep progressing and be patient, you cannot expect racing without assist in a short period of time.

Do you have the AI at a good difficulty? Because you probably got worse when you turned off the assists so did you turn down the AI as well?

Just checking I see Elite has Pit Assist and Pit Release Assist off. Is it perhaps these rather than the main driving assists that are making the big difference?

For myself I'm using the Custom assists option to gradually switch things off one by one.