Shakedown survey (+ how do I improve?)

I've been wondering about the shakedown in Rally racing. I preface with this disclaimer. I'm a total newbie to Rally - an American accustomed to oval tracks and open wheels and wings and things. Playing video games to pass time in the pandemic, I picked up Dirt Rally 2.0 on XBox One. I've progressed a good ways from my first few stages since then.

One thing I never have been able to get a grasp on is the shakedown. So I figured I'd ask some longtime racers for their thoughts.

Do you use shakedowns in various game options (career, historic, colin mcrae, etc.)? If so, how often?

Do you use them in challenge events? 

How many do you use per event?

What do you use them for? 

How much difference does using them or not using them make in your overall race?

Appreciate any responses, and apologies if this is the wrong forum.

I do 1 shakedown before most rally starts, to get a feeling for the car and track, because I switch the cars very often.
If the shakedown shows problems with the car or me being bad, I do a second one.

• Like 2
  • Agree 1

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, UnderclassGDfan said:

I do 1 shakedown before most rally starts, to get a feeling for the car and track, because I switch the cars very often.
If the shakedown shows problems with the car or me being bad, I do a second one. 

👆

Edited by somethingthing
  • Like 1

I use them before basically every rally. They're enormously important, and go hand-in-hand with set-ups.

If you're not paying real attention to set-ups, you're compromising your performance and enjoyment of DR. It becomes second-nature after a while and doesn't take very long to change your setups once you get the hang of the various elements.

Shakedowns are your 'test your setup' time and are vital. Use them wisely but be careful not to smash your car in the process!

In particular, use them to test for oversteer/understeer and fine-tune your setups so you are as nimble as possible.

• Like 1