Bars or suspension for traction?

So, I studied a lot of setups guides and I figured out where to intervene for understeer, oversteer and so on.

I also learned that a setup with harder fronts can help with traction and flooring the gas without being afraid of spinning: harder suspensions and bars on the front and softer rear can help you with it, but at the cost of potential understeer.

Now, rotation is very important and most of the setups, also for race and not time trial, do use a harder rear, in example suspensions 1-3 and bars 3-9.

So, if I do want to address my traction problem I know I have to be harder on the front and softer on the rear, but I want to intervene only on one between suspensions and bars, otherwise I will be too understeery.

My thought is that I should intervene on the anti-roll bars, in example instead of a common 3-8 or 4-9 having a 7-6, because a softer front suspension is vital to attack the kerbs and also being able to start flooring the throttle mid-corner can help me with having already a good traction when the car becomes straight.

(Numbers are only to give an idea, obviouslt every track is different).

What do you think? Stiffer front on the suspensions or bars to have better traction and car more planted?

• Like 1

You raise interesting questions and I won't be able to answer them definitively.

I love to play around with setups and use telemetry data for the purpose. What I can say from experience is that it is always a compromise across the whole setup. If I run a low downforce setup for a given track (especially in races), I tend to go much softer on the roll bars and suspension. The initial turn-in will be sluggish, but going with lower roll bars helps with mid-corner understeer in this scenario. If the initial turn-in is too slow, then I try adding some front toe angle. If the car is still too understeery in mid-corner, I might try and put in some more negative camber. Not much though, a single click often suffices.