Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

[IMPROVEMENT] Stick shifter for gamepad?

This might sound ridiculous, but it's something I've never seen a racing game do, and I think might be really neat and I'm assuming wouldn't be too too difficult to implement?

My idea's two-fold: 

First: Map "clutch" to something like left bumper. That awesome fan-tutorial that got highlighted in the last update was all "e-brake, clutch, turn corner, drop clutch go" and I don't have an e-brake to press. I've been sorta making do by dropping into 2nd approaching acute turns and shifting to first halfway through, but I'm no car expert, I don't know if it's the same, but it feels like the engine-braking involved in shifting all the way back down to second before a turn almost always means that I'm stopped by the time I get there.

Or I'm just handling turning all wrong, I'll admit this game is my introduction to rallying as a whole.

And for the controversial second idea: Map the shifter to right stick. I know it's currently the "look a little bit" button, I don't know how much use it sees, I don't know how helpful of a compromise "Well make it control the camera unless you're holding the clutch down, then" is, but I feel like my idea's too never-been-done-before to pass up a chance to mention it to the devs.

In my head it would work like "hold left bumper, tilt right-stick left and then up for first, left then down for 2nd, up for third, down for 4th, right then up for 5th, right then down for 6th" That way people stuck with a gamepad don't have to miss out on all that cool shifting action.