Jump to content Jump to content

Professional Race Car Driver's Take

MBellRacing

Hello all,

My name is Matt Bell and I'm a driver from the US. I used to LOVE Richard Burns Rally, and I knew Dirt Rally was going to be a great title, if they went back to good physics. Let me say, while the game looks and sounds remarkable, it is very frustrating at times. I understand that it is still a changing product, but let me vent here, a bit. I use rally sims as sportscar training since I'm unhappy with all the road racing titles. I use iRacing sometimes, but it is close enough and too far away from the real thing that I don't feel I benefit much. The rally games, which force you to react and think so much faster, I find very useful. Here are some things that make me crazy about Dirt Rally:

-No force feedback for the Fanatec wheel. This wheel, which is supposed to be pretty top-of-the-line, is not allowed to do what it is made to do. With the full range of wheel motion, I get just a small hint of FFB. That is unacceptable since Need for Speed had FFB in like 1998. 
-The random moments when I go from first by 10 seconds, to 17 seconds back. This happens mostly in Wales rally, randomly. It will all of a sudden just decide to inform me that, somehow, while driving EXACTLY the same, I've lost damn near half a second. Again-- and I say this modestly-- I DO THIS FOR A LIVING. I'm not a rally driver, but I have an okay feel for when I've drastically changed my driving style. 
-Landmines! I love when you are on line, for argument's sake, and touch the slightest incline in road with your INBOARD wheel, and the car flips through the air about 37 times. I am pretty close to recording these, because they are frustrating. 
-The Ford Sierra Cossy has a inoperative shift light. The red light never comes on, and the 3 yellows are on for half the usable rev range. WTF?