F1 2021 | BETA | Details and how to Apply Here Read more... ×

Ray tracing confirmed for F1 2021

The Steam page confirms ray tracing will be supported. 

Will be interesting to see which features this includes. Reflections? Shadows? Lighting?

I'm no expert but I'm almost certain it won't be reflections, it's just not worth the performance hit for most in racing games, I'd be less surprised if it was raytraced ambient occlusion and shadows as its much more worth it on a genre where framerate tends to be more important than details.

Anyway, I'm happy to be proven wrong.

Posted (edited)

It may not have it at all but if PC has it I would think consoles would also get it. The Series X is equivalent to about a 2080ti Apparently but I don't know about raytracing performance. Watchdog's legion manages it so I imagine f1 would also be able to on series x, even if you lose some framerate eg 120 -> 60 but I don't know and we won't until we get official confirmation.

Edit: just saw this

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/p/f1-2021/9n6j02vpg635?activetab=pivot:overviewtab , take a look under capabilities. It lists raytracing.

Edited by smalls048

Going by other console games there will probably be a choice between a mode with ray tracing and one or probably two that prioritise performance (frame rate). For a racing game in particular I'd expect the overwhelming majority will choose the latter so ray tracing being included may end up being rather moot. Unless it's used in cut-scenes?

• Agree 1

A lot of cutscenes can be prebaked so I would imagine that it could be dynamically implemented so it is always active in cutscenes. I'm not a game developer I'm most likely wrong but that's what I think.

I honestly don't see the point in a game like this, except for spectators. While racing just about noone will be able to notice it anyway. Considering the performance hit it will introduce I bet most will have it off anyway.

• Agree 1