Jump to content Jump to content

F1 2020 on Controller/Wheel/Assists

Hey Everyone,

I have an quick question to you. I have an Wheel: Thrustmaster TMX Force Feedback Pro.

I am struggling a bit, I am really competitive with my controller but with limited assist youre not quicker then the guy with no assists.

Do you guys have any tips for me for my controller with no assist, on how do you learn to drive on controller with no assists or my wheel on how to learn it?

Appreciate it!

I'm not sure why you put F1 2021 in the thread title?

My main advice would be to decide whether you're going to race with either wheel or controller and then stick to just this. Mixing the two is only going to make things harder I think. It should be possible to be as fast with either, although my guess is you'd get more enjoyment from using the wheel since you have this?

What assists are you currently using? Some will advise to just turn everything off. What I did myself was more gradual, first of all getting used to manual gears whilst using medium TC and ABS on, then I switched both ABS and TC off. I partly did it this way as I'd seen videos on how short-shifting gears can help control wheel-spin with TC off. The main thing is, once you've switched something off, keep it off. Accept you'll be slower while you get used to it.

• Thanks 1

Oooh just noticed the F1 2021. Needs to be F1 2020 my bad. 😄

I use the assist Brake assist off. ABS On. Traction Control Medium. Racing line Corners only. Gearbox Manual. 

I have more fun to drive on the wheel but in league races I am pretty fast on controller but racing on the wheel is pretty difficult.

I’d probably brake my fingers if I tried manual gears on a pad. I don’t get how people do that.