Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

[BUG] Crash on startup

Hi,

I've been really enjoying the game. I'm new to driving sims and really not into the whole do this get that nonsense so I like that I can just dive in and drive somewhere.

Well I was until a day or two back when Dirt Rally started crashing on startup every time. I rebooted; I installed latest driver; I deleted drt.exe and verified game cache to recover a new version of the file. I verified game content; I deleted the entire game from windows explorer and then reinstalled through Steam. Every single time I get exactly the same behaviour which is an immediate crash on startup followed by Steam saying it is going to install the game, getting to 1% and then giving error code 41.

My Spec:
Windows 10
dual Xeon E2687v3
64 GB ECC RAM
MSI 6G Gaming GTX 980 TI
2x 500GB SSD
2x 3TB HDD
Logitech G27 steering wheel and pedals (and H shift but not used)
3 monitors all different resolutions but I game on an Asus 2560x1440.

Please let me know if there is something I can try. I tried replying to your bug thread on Steam but with no response.

Cheers,

Nick

OK I had a hunch it was number of logical cores so I did some experimenting. I started out by turning off hyperthreading and limiting each CPU to 4 cores for a total of 8 logical cores and the game works fine. Next I unlimited the CPU core count but left hyperthreading off for a total of 20 cores and the game crashes every time. Next I turned on hyperthreading and limited each CPU to 4 cores again for a total of 16 logical cores and the game works perfectly.

I had a suspicion that some lazy coder at CM had made an assumption about 16 logical cores being "plenty" and it seems I was right. If you want me to test more I can. Just let me know.